Saturday, March 26, 2016

Review: Highland Awakening by Jennifer Haymore


Description:
For fans of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, the Highland Knights series continues as a tight-knit band of Scottish mercenaries make trouble on the mean streets of London . . . and under the sheets with England’s proper young women.

As the secret author of racy romances, Lady Esme Hawkins goes to great lengths to protect her family’s honor. Which is why she carefully disguises herself before entering a notorious bordello to do research. But when Esme comes face-to-face with a brooding Highland bodyguard, she can’t easily refuse a harmless kiss . . . a kiss that inflames desires ripped from the pages of her novels. Acting on them, however, would risk revealing Esme’s identity—and the fact that she’s engaged to another man.

As a Highland Knight sworn to protect the crown, Camden McLeod never expected to follow his client into a bordello—nor could he anticipate meeting a bright, innocent lass with lush lips and eyes the color of the sea. Instantly, Cam knows he must possess her. But to do so, he’ll need to give up his rakish ways, embrace his role as heir to his despised father, and snuff out a deadly threat to his brothers in arms. By comparison, winning Esme away from her insipid fiancé will be pure pleasure.


My Thoughts:
One of my pet peeves in a historical is when the man doesn't want the woman to marry who she is supposed to marry yet he has no intention of marrying her himself. I really liked Cam, though. And he made some major mistakes but he had reasons and learned from them.  I love that Esme is socially awkward. That's totally me. And Cam likes her just the way she is. She doesn't have to pretend to be someone she's not. There is also some mystery here as the Knights are being attacked by an unknown enemy. I enjoyed this and can't wait for the next in the series. 


My Rating: *****
Steam Factor: !!!!


My Source:
Netgalley


Where to get it:

Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Google Play | Kobo


Where to find the author:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear from you!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...